Strangers

Davidson alums are such wonderful people. The same goes for people like Elizabeth, Hana, Zach, Louise, and many more Elizabeths, Hanas, Zachs, and Louises.

Some already-established folks reply your email out of courtesy. But others…they really become your mentors. They buy you your drink while giving you advice. They let you crash at their apartments (in a bed, not even in a couch, which was what I anticipated). They write long emails to their previous bosses that will interview me. Or tell me that the organization that has just rejected me is weird and it’s for the better. Though we have never met outside, Elizabeth practically hunt down organizations that work with hers and pretty much sold my résumé to them.

Isn’t it amazing that people help complete strangers, making room in their already busy lives?

Leave a comment